Dispensational Model

This is one of various articles in our Bible Basics for New Believers series. You may read the other articles here .


Dispensations in Scripture

  1. Innocence
  2. Conscience
  3. Human Government
  4. Old Covenant
  5. Church Age
  6. Tribulation
  7. Millennial Kingdom
  8. New Heaven and New Earth

Divine Worldwide Judgments in Scripture

  1. The Curse
  2. The Flood
  3. The Confusion of Tongues/ Babel
  4. The Cross
  5. The Rapture
  6. The Second Coming
  7. The Great White Throne

Dispensational Notes

Gen 1:1: In the beginning… God…. The Eternal, Transcendent, Holy, Gracious Creator

Dispensation 1 = Innocence (White)

From the Creation until the Fall of Adam and Eve, (Gen. 1:28 through Gen. 3:6)

1 = Wholeness

Central Character: Adam (1)

Ended with a worldwide judgment: The Curse

Dispensation 2 = Conscience (Black)

From the Fall of Adam and Eve until the flood of Noah, (Gen 4:1 through Gen. 8:14)

2 = Division, Separation, (Sin Separates)

Central Characters: Cain Abel Seth (2)

Ended with a worldwide judgment: The Flood

Dispensation 3 = Human Government (Green)

From the Flood until the Tower of Babel, (Gen. 8:15 through Gen. 11:9)

3 = Unity, Equality – Growth – Life

Resurrection – Physical Resurrection,

(Land rose up out of the waters on the third day of the creation week)

Jesus rose from the dead on the “third day according to the Scriptures” (1 Cor 15:4)

Central Characters: Noah/overlaps – Ham Shem Japheth (3)

Ended with a worldwide judgment: Confusion of Tongues

Dispensation 4 = Old Covenant: Promise (Brown)

From the tower of Babel and call of Abraham (Gen. 11:10 through Matt. 27:66, Mark 15:47, Luke 23:56, John 19:42)

Central Characters: Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, Children of Israel / Moses / Judges / Prophets / Priests / Kings

(Law introduced because of transgression See Gal. 3:19)

4 = Limitation – Weakness – Time (Sun, Moon, Stars, Dates, Seasons)

– Geographic limitations (North, South East West)

Direction – “I would not have known sin unless…” (Rom. 7:7)

Weakness – “The law was weak…” (Rom. 8:3)

Ended with a worldwide judgment: The Cross (Limited/Temporal Death – Jesus Resurrected)

Dispensation 5 = Church Age (Blue)

From the Resurrection until the Rapture (Matt. 28:1, Mark 16:1 Luke 24:1, John 20:1 through Rev. 4:1)

(The Day of Pentecost was the “birthday of the Church)

5 = Liberty – Abundance, Fruitfulness, Blessing, Eternal life.

Central Characters/Writers: Peter, Paul, James, John, Jude (5)

Apostles, Prophets, Evangelists, Pastors, Teachers. (5)

The Rapture of the Church (Precedes the Tribulation: 70th week of Daniel 9)

Ends with a worldwide judgment: The Rapture

Note: (Hosea 6:1-2) “Come, and let us return unto the LORD: for he hath torn, and he will heal us; he hath smitten, and he will bind us up. After two days will he revive us: in the third day he will raise us up, and we shall live in his sight.”

Dispensation 6 = Tribulation (Red) (666) Man, Man of Sin

From the Rapture to the Second Coming (Rev. 4:1 – Rev. 19:11-21)

70th Week of Daniel, Discipline of Israel, (Daniel 9) Discipline of the Christ rejecting world.

DNA Chromosome Number 6 is the distinguishing segment in the DNA Strand that sets man apart from other life forms.

6 = Man

Central Characters: Church (in heaven), Israel, The Nations, Satan, Anti-Christ, False Prophet, (6)

The Second Coming of Jesus (Precedes the Restoration of Israel and Millennial Reign of Jesus)

The Establishing of the Kingdom and Restoration of Israel

Ends with a worldwide judgment: The Second Coming of Jesus (Son of Man)

Jesus Comes in Judgment / Battle of Armageddon / Gog Magog Eze. 38-39

Dispensation 7 = Millennium (Purple)

From the Second Coming until The Great White Throne Judgment (Rev. 20:1-15)

1000 Year reign, Israel’s long awaited kingdom restoration, (Enforced rest upon the earth / Sabbath)

7= Complete – Rest

(Numerological note: 5,6,7, Liberty gives Man Complete Rest)

Central Character: Jesus: Our Sabbath, (7)

Ends with a worldwide judgment: Great White Throne

Dispensation 8 = New Heavens and New Earth (Yellow/Gold)

From the Great White Throne Judgment through an eternal future with the Lord. (Rev. 21:1 – Rev. 22:21)

8 = New Beginnings, Resurrection of Jesus first day of week,

Jesus name in Greek numerical equivalent – 888

Central Characters: God (3 in 1) The Bride (Israel and the Church) (1) Angels (1) Friends of the Bride (Old Testament Saints) (1) Tribulation Saints (1) and those redeemed from the Millennium (1)

Never ending relationship with our Eternal, Transcendent, Holy, Gracious Creator – God.

biblical-dispensations-number-color-material Colors in Scripture

White – Purity – (Light/All Color)

Black – Impurity/Sin – (Darkness, Absence of Light/Color)

Green – Life/Growth – (Blue and Yellow = Green)

Brown – Death/Loss – (Blue, Yellow = Green add Red = Brown)

*Blue – Heaven/Life/Promise/Liberty/Abundance

*Red – Man/Life/Blood

Purple – Royalty – (Blue and Red = Purple)

*Yellow – Eternity/Divinity

Orange – Divine Bloodshed /Fire/Bronze (Yellow and Red = Orange)

* Primary Color

Numbers in Scripture

1 = Wholeness

2 = Division

3 = Unity, Equality, Human or Divine – Growth, Life

4 = Time, Seasons, Days, Years, Limitation, Direction, Death

5 = Liberty, Abundance, –Abundant Life, Heaven, Water

6 = Man

7 = Complete, Rest

8 = New Beginnings

9 = Fruitfulness (Still in development)

10 = Law, Judicial, Persecution Ten Days, Plagues, Ten Commandments,

12 = Human Government, Twelve apostles, Twelve tribes.

40/400 = 4X10 Limited/Directional Discipline

50 = 5 X 10 Legislated Freedom/Liberty Jubilee

Materials in Scripture

Gold = Divine/Eternal

Silver = Purity

Brass/Bronze/Copper = Redemptive Judgment – with Mercy

Iron = Non-Redemptive Judgment – without Mercy

Tin = (Still Under Development)

Gems in Scripture

Diamond = Clear – Purity/Light (Spectrum of Colors)

Onyx = Black – Darkness, Absence of Light

Emerald = Green (Blue and Yellow)

Amber -Brown

Sapphire- Blue

Ruby – Red

Amethyst – Purple


Elements in Scripture

Wind = Spirit

Earth = Frailty, Mankind

Fire = Judgment

Wood = Humanity – Earthly Life/Death

Clay = Man

Water = Cleansing

Sea = Peoples

Blood = Life

Mountain/s = Authority/Power/Governments (Still Under Development)

Horn/s = Strength/Power/Kings/Kingdoms (Still Under Development)

Rainbow = Promise